Important Information: Co-Parenting

As required by the State of Tennessee, your local Extension Service is now offering court-ordered co-parenting classes. These classes are also available for those wishing to voluntarily enhance their family relationships with their children after a divorce.
Click here for registration form

Parenting Apart: Effective Co-Parenting
An Educational Program for Divorcing Parents

Tennessee has one of the highest divorce rates in the U.S  Because divorce is so common, it may seem like adjustment to divorce has become easier for everyone involved. In reality, divorce is hard for all family members, especially children. Because of concerns about the negative impact of divorce on children, the Tennessee State Legislature passed a law requiring divorcing parents of minor children to attend a parent education program.

The University of Tennessee Agricultural Extension Service has developed a four-hour program, “Parenting Apart: Effective Co-Parenting,” to help divorcing parents learn how to help their children cope with the issues that arise because of the parents’ divorce. The following topics are covered in the program:

  • facts about divorce
  • dealing with stress
  • how children react to divorce
  • positive communication skills
  • helping children get through divorce
  • keeping children out of the middle of conflicts
  • the family after divorce
  • the processes of divorce and mediation
  • domestic violence and divorce

Classes include group discussion, the viewing of videos and lecture.  Each participant will receive a booklet about parenting through divorce and a list of local resources.  Classes are taught by Extension Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) agents. The agents have either a bachelor’s or master’s degree in Family and Consumer Sciences and have training in issues related to children and families.


The cost of the program is $40 per person if paid in advance. The cost will be $50 if paid the day of class.  However, due to COVID-19 precautions, participants must register and pay in advance prior to class – no walk-ins the day of class allowed. Please be prepared to pay using a personal check, money order or cash (please have exact change). Participants must register in advance to be sure of a place in the class. There will be no fee for the class if you have files an affidavit of indigency. Proof is required. Classes of less than four pre-registered participants may be canceled. The four-hour class will be offered according to the schedule (see below). The class will be offered in a 4 hour session. Participants may attend at the location of their choice no matter where the divorce is filed.  Divorcing spouses or former spouses contesting child custody, support or visitation will not register for the same classes.

Please do no bring children to class. Child care is not provided and the subject matter is not intended for children. Classes begin on time and participants will not be allowed to attend if they arrive after the starting time.  Please arrive early for check-in and bring a valid form of identification. A certificate will be given to all persons who complete the course. To get credit for taking the course, please list your civil court and docket number on the registration form, obtained at the Extension Office and other locations designated by the court.

For more information please contact The University of Tennessee Campbell County Agricultural Extension Service at 423-562-9474.

An interactive registration form in Adobe Acrobat is available for download.

You may register in person at our office:
555 Main Street
Jacksboro, TN 37757-0416

Classes will be held monthly. See the schedule for upcoming classes.

Adult education classroom
  • July 26, 2022
  • August 31, 2022
  • September 21, 2022
  • October 26, 2022
  • November 30, 2022
  • December 14, 2022
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
  • 9:00 am – 1:00 pm